2 new baby sulcata's

Status
Not open for further replies.

bradleyka

5 Year Member
We just got 2 new baby sulcata's about the size of golf balls. We got them from a breeder who had 97 babies.
Here are my questions...
I am reading alot about feeding grass...Are we talking lawn grass? I would have thought greens similar to a iguana diet would be good, but after reading this forum, I am not so sure about that..
Their basking spot is 105, we are soaking them 2 times a days, have a moisturizer for their shells, uvb light, and a night light to keep the temperature up.
I am new to tortoises, not to reptiles, (I used to breed bearded dragons, and iguanas in the past) and am familiar with the higher level of care for reptiles over typical pets.
They have been eating and pooping good, and I it sounds like the greens that we are feeding them are too high in protein. They are both about 2 months old.
Thanks, Brad

mainey34

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Peoria, Arizona
Hello and welcome..I think your temps might be a little to high. Should be between 95-100 in basking. There are tabs and lots of reading info on proper care for your sulcatas. If you follow them you should have no problems. They are probably too little for grasses. Mazuri, kale, spring mix, collard greens are a few. Good luck and enjoy reading, there are also many informative members here

bradleyka

5 Year Member
With the basking, they seem to like to camp out there. There are other areas they can go that it wouldnt be as hot. Do they sleep alot? Mine seem to just do a lot of laying, stretched out with their eyes closed. They are eating, pooping and drinking water. I am new to the tortoise, and just want to get them the best start possible.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA