3 of 3 leopard hatchlings dead - what went wrong?

JBurer

Good evening,
In the last week I have lost 2 of the 3 hatchling leopard tortoises I had been raising for the past three months, with the 3rd tortoise in the final stages of death right now. My primary goal in reaching out to you is to try and understand what went wrong and how to prevent this from happening again. I've racked my brain over their care and can't seem to pinpoint anything obvious that I should have done differently. Not to steer my counsel, but the conclusion I keep coming to is that they were harmed during shipping and, despite showing some growth, were not going to make it regardless of what I did. I have since acquired 2 more hatchlings from a local breeder and they appear to be doing extremely well. I'm frankly terrified that I'm missing something, though, thus the novel I'm writing here for help. I appreciate in advance your advice and recommendations.

Before I get into some of the husbandry details, I'd like to put out there that I've owned various tortoise species for about 30 years now. While I followed the guidance of the specific breeder I acquired these from, bolstered by Fife's Leopard Tortoise book and care sheets on this forum, I successfully raised a pair of Leopards in the mid/late 90's, when it was commonplace to keep them on playsand and pyramiding's link to humidity weren't common knowledge. In retrospect, even with less than ideal conditions, they thrived in my care. Given my experience with them in the past, I found them to be a relatively easy species to care for (vs Panther Chameleons I've also experienced).