A few more Pneumonia type questions..Must be winter

Status
Not open for further replies.

REDRAT

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hello there. First time visitor/First type poster. I’m sorry to jump in with questions but here goes... One of my Sulcatas, Henrietta was diagnosed with pneumonia after noticing some respiratory distress the other day. We were told to give Baytril 3.5cc IM every day. First question: Isn’t that is a lot of fluid to push into a tiny muscle. I am an ER nurse and we don’t give that much to babies in there muscles due to the size of them. 2nd Question: The vet was able to pull her hind leg out to give her the shot. When I tried this I was sure I lost my finger forever. There is absolutely no way can I get her leg out. She weighs 20 pounds and WILL NOT let me get it out.. I have been able to get a 25g needle in-between the scales on her front legs. Has any body ever tried this or is there a reason I shouldn’t do this. I think it would be less painful due to the larger muscle found in the front leg and less traumatic since I don’t have to force her hind leg out.

Of course her vet closes for the day on Wed (WT?) so we had to go to a vet about 30 50miles north and pay $300.00. We did a few x-rays and a physical exam and blam-o we were given the diagnosis that I already knew she had. Now I don’t mind spending this cash on my torts but that’s BIG money. Real BIG!!! 3rd Question: Is there a way to get this cheaper than $75.00/bottle (4days worth with and 8 more to go). If the other tort gets sick I won’t be able to feed the kids for the month.

One more thing: As mentioned I am a ER nurse. I do as sorts of hurtful things to people daily. It is killing me to have to give a shot to Henrietta every day.
I’m glad to have found this site in this moment...

Thank you in advance for your time and wisdom!

aka2tal

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
How old is she?, and how do you think she got pneumonia? What region do you live?