A reptile garden in Denver?

How appealing would a public reptile garden in Denver, CO be?

• Very appealing

Votes: 13 100.0%
  • Somewhat appealing

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Unsure / no opinion

• Somewhat unappealing

• Very unappealing

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

GeoTerraTestudo

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Broomfield, Colorado
Hello all. As you know, I am a biologist and in graduate school at the University of Colorado Boulder. I love Denver's botanical and zoological gardens (the Denver Zoo, Denver Botanic Gardens, Downtown Aquarium, Butterfly Pavilion, Wild Animal Sanctuary, and other non-profits). However, having lived in Florida for a few years, it seems to me that Denver could have room for a few more.

After I finish my studies, I am thinking of starting up a park devoted to reptiles. It would have beautiful gardens, and spacious enclosures for many different species of lizard, snake, crocodilian, and turtle (including, of course, lots of tortoises). It could also have, to a lesser extent, some associated animals, like fish, birds, primates, and small carnivorans. I was thinking of starting to network for this project soon, so that by the time I graduate I could work on it professionally.

So what do you think? Would you visit such a park? Do you think Denver could use it? If so, please share your thoughts below. Also, if you have some ideas, advice, or contacts for me, please share those, too. And feel free to PM me as well.

Thanks,
Gaddy :tort:

PS - I have also thought about starting a drive-through safari, which Colorado also lacks. It would feature native megafauna, like elk and bison (which I currently study). However, because such an operation would require more land, it would probably have to come later on. Nevertheless, I'd love to hear your thoughts about this idea, too. Thanks.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California