Adopting not as easy as it seams

Carrie Routt

I am new to the Sulcata world. In looking for a sulcata, we have run across so many posts about adopting because there are so many given up when they get large. The problem is we cannot find anyone with one to get rid of. Is this really a problem? Are there any adult sulcatas that need a good home? Where do you start?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Carrie, and welcome to the Forum!

Julie of Long Island Turtle Rescue is not taking in any sulcatas because she has too many already and can't find homes for them. Maybe you're just not looking in the right places. I know Julie wants to place her sulcatas in southern states where they can live outside. You would have to pay the shipping, but the tortoises are free. Where are you?

I have two 10" sulcatas looking for homes, but I only place them in my own geographical area.

There are quite a few to adopt in the Arizona tortoise Rescue.

Where are you. I'll help you find a rescue near you.

Carrie Routt

I have a 3 year old Russian. My mom is giving me a turtle that she says is a bow turtle/russian hybrid?? Not sure that that is possible. She got it from an old friend. We turtle-sat 2 baby sulcatas and fell in love. I always had a tortoise growing up. I will post pics and ask what it is of the new tortoise once she sends me pics.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
You probably already know this, but I have to say it anyway: