Advice needed - what type of tortoise do I have?

Jennyjuju

Location (City and/or State)
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Hi all!

I’m new to tortoise care, and have recently inherited a lovely tortoise! I want to make sure I give him a lovely life, but need some advice in terms of the basics.

For starters I’m not too sure what species of tortoise I have - I’ve attached a photo, can anyone help?

Also any tips that you have in terms of feeding and general care would be most appreciated :) he does hibernate in winter.

Thanks so much!

71B54DFB-FA45-4798-8285-486755469F17.jpeg

Jennyjuju

Thank you for your response! I’ve attempted to give him a soak, he lasted all of about 10 minutes and spent most of it trying to get out of the container! I’ll be trying again tomorrow with a deeper one, so as not to traumatise him too much for one day!

I’m not sure he quite knew what to do, I assume they are supposed to drink the water?

Srmcclure

Oklahoma city
Thank you for your response! I’ve attempted to give him a soak, he lasted all of about 10 minutes and spent most of it trying to get out of the container! I’ll be trying again tomorrow with a deeper one, so as not to traumatise him too much for one day!

I’m not sure he quite knew what to do, I assume they are supposed to drink the water?
They will drink it sometimes, but also just absorb it ? so any soak is a good soak, but a bit longer never hurts. Definitely try the larger tub and see if it helps him. Won't hurt at least lol. He'll probably still try to get out, but that's good exercise so he'll be ok so long as it's not too deep or too shallow

Jennyjuju

Oh ok that’s good at least he will have absorbed some! Will see how we get on tomorrow! The water level was just above the join where the top and bottom shells meet, is that adequate?