Am I tormenting my tortoise?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginny

5 Year Member
I'm new to the world of tortoises. I adopted Toby from the AZ-Sonora Desert Museum (desert) tortoise rescue group about two months ago. He has his own decent-sized, dog-free backyard with lots of grass, hay, hibiscus and mallow.

There is wrought-iron gate that goes directly out to the desert arroyo, and Toby spends lots of time looking out that gate. It would be impossible for him to get out the gate - it is screened, locked and has a powerful spring.

But I get the feeling that he'd love to escape to the desert. Yesterday, I found him on his hind legs trying to get out of the gate! Is he being tormented by thoughts of freedom? Should put a layer of black screen on the gate so he can't look out? What do you guys think?

Millerlite

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern Calif.
No.. Most tortoises will always try and get out of the enclosure.. but he has better odds living with you. Best thing to do is cover it so they cant see out. Torts. like to get to the greener side of the gate.. no matter what.

Madkins007

10 Year Member!
Nebraska
Yeah. In the wild, they push against branches and other obstructions doggedly. so whenever they see an opening in their pen, they obsess over it.

Visual barriers will prevent this- but it may keep trying for a little while because it remembers that there was something there.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
That's one reason why I always suggest for a pen to be built with solid material, not see-through material. If its possible, it might be a good idea to attach a board in some way so that he can't see out the gate.

Yvonne

M

Maggie Cummings