Anyone happy living in new york?

Status
Not open for further replies.

terryo

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Staten Island, New York
I agree with not smoking in a public place, like a restaurant, but someone having a cigarette on a park bench in the open air, should be OK. I don't smoke and don't like to inhale it while I'm eating, nor do I want my children to, but outside is their business. No one owns the air we breathe. In New York the very rich and the very poor live comfortably, but the middle class is getting robbed of not only their income, but now their rights. Neither rich nor poor.....are in a fast food place having a big glass of soda. But now we're getting into deep water politics here, which is something else.

Carlotta84

5 Year Member
Bristol, UK
I might be a bit out of the choir but I am a scientist and this is my field.
I guess the problem with sugary drinks and fatty food is not people becoming fat but the pathology that people can get: Diabetes and cardiovascular disease at first.
Diabetes (type 2) is partly genetic and partly diet related. It is a long-term condition that can have serious health consequences including heart attack, stoke, kidney failure, blindness and limb amputation leading to a drastic decrease of life expectancy.
Having saying that I think the best way to prevent diet related disease would be a correct information and education of the public on the consequences that a wrong diet can leads instead of prohibiting consumption of some food.

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Carlotta84 said:
Having saying that I think the best way to prevent diet related disease would be a correct information and education of the public on the consequences that a wrong diet can leads instead of prohibiting consumption of some food.

I agree.