Apparently my winter enclosure isn't good enough :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheTortoiseWhisperer

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Mandeville, Louisiana
I promise I've done my homework unfortunately I did it by studying the wrong reference material.....I met a lady a while ago that is a tortoise rescuer and as soon as I met her Sulcata's I knew that this was something I wanted to do, so I started to read A LOT!!! I started by planting the types of plants they like and removing the things in our yard that could be a potential hazard to them all the while I studied everything I could about them and in between it all I saw what I thought would be the perfect winter enclosure for my future sulcatas. I finally found a rescue-> http://www.corhs.org/ <--- they are the only ones who would ship the sulcatas to Louisiana where we live, I picked out two tortoises because I happen to have an amazing husband who supports everything he knows I have a passion for, so he looked at what I wanted, we headed to home depot and he worked on the winter enclosure all weekend and after work, the day before yesterday and yesterday, last night I sent the person that is reviewing my application the pictures and she's pretty sure it's not big enough.....I am soooo upset not only because this is something that I truly want to do but because of all the work we've done ESPECIALLY MY HUSBAND. This is what we have so far....all he needed to do was install the heaters, the UVB lights, the roof, the insulation and of course the boards that will hold the insulation in between the walls and I was going to paint it....does anyone have any suggestion?

image-1152595140.png

The last 2 pictures is of the house he made for them just to kind of hang out.

image-2855417283.png

Attachments

• image-2396942613.png
    image-2396942613.png
    234 KB · Views: 186
  • image-848417398.png
    image-848417398.png
    194.6 KB · Views: 170
  • image-1249342852.png
    image-1249342852.png