Artist looking for Galapagos Models

Status
Not open for further replies.

mcfahnestock

5 Year Member
Hello Tortoise Forum!

I am a Southern California based artist who is working on a sculpture of a grouping of Galapagos Tortoises and I am looking for models. I plan on contacting the San Diego Zoo but I was wondering if anyone here could guide me to a breeding program or private owner where I would be able to get a bit closer. I am really in need of some observation time so that I can better understand the movement, character, and textures of the shell and skin. Photographs and general research has been good to start with but there is nothing like spending time drawing from life.

Thank you for your help.

Best
-McLean

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
We have a member in SoCal who took in the Galops and Aldabs when Casa de Tortuga closed its doors. I'm trying to remember her name. She doesn't post much at all. I know she's also a member of some of the YahooGroups. I'll keep digging in my memory banks and try to come up with it. "Sharon" springs to mind, but I'm not sure. I'll get it eventually. Give me some time.

Oh..and...Welcome, McLean!

Laura

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Foothills above Sacramento CA
Moorpark college has a 'zoo' and they have Clarence... he also has a FB page.. They are in Moorpark, near Simi Valley...

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
emysemys said:
We have a member in SoCal who took in the Galops and Aldabs when Casa de Tortuga closed its doors. I'm trying to remember her name. She doesn't post much at all. I know she's also a member of some of the YahooGroups. I'll keep digging in my memory banks and try to come up with it. "Sharon" springs to mind, but I'm not sure. I'll get it eventually. Give me some time.

Oh..and...Welcome, McLean!

Is this who your looking for Yvonne: