Bedding Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

HeavensWind

5 Year Member
Right now i have: Exo-Terra Forest Moss as substrate for my Red Foot, the problem with forest moss, is the smell. What type of bedding/substrate do you guys recommend? I heard that 70% Cypress Mulch and 30% Forest moss was perfect for Red foots..is this true?

Tropical Torts

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Northwest FL
I have never used the forest moss before. I just use cypress mulch for the whole enclusure except the hide which i stuff with sphagnum moss.

LindaF

5 Year Member
jrcrist4 said:
I have never used the forest moss before. I just use cypress mulch for the whole enclusure except the hide which i stuff with sphagnum moss.

This is what I do as well.

Peacebone

5 Year Member
AZ
I have used both cypress by itself and a cypress and peat moss mix. I personally like the cypress and peat moss mix.

HeavensWind

5 Year Member
Thanks for the advice guys, The forest moss stank allot. I got some Cypress Mulch and it's awesome!

HarleyK

5 Year Member
HeavensWind said:
Right now i have: Exo-Terra Forest Moss as substrate for my Red Foot, the problem with forest moss, is the smell. What type of bedding/substrate do you guys recommend? I heard that 70% Cypress Mulch and 30% Forest moss was perfect for Red foots..is this true?

I personally use mosser lee moss found at Lowes (not stinky for me atleast) + eco-earth + orchid bark chips. Works for me.....

SelfRescuingPrincess

5 Year Member
Washington State
Where do you get cyprus mulch? I've looked at my local pet store and at home depot, where i found nothing but "red bark" and "brown bark", as the employee was so helpful to tell me was in the bags, when i asked specifically what kind of wood was in the mulch. lol.

HarleyK

5 Year Member