Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
I wish this forum existed years ago when I started with tortoises. I wouldn't have had to stumble around in the dark for so long. There is something I want to share with all the newbies that I wish someone had shared with me when I was a newbie. All the old pros can just tune out now.

Here goes: Your tortoise will tell you if you've got its environment right. If you watch their behavior and habits, they will tell you everything you need to know. Further, any noticeable change in behavior can be an early indicator of a problem.

If your tortoise hangs out on the warm side of the enclosure most of the time, he may be telling you that you need to increase the temps a bit. Conversely, if your tortoise continually avoids the warm side, you may need to lower the wattage or raise the bulbs a bit higher. You do have a gradient, don't you? Ideally they should move around the entire enclosure. You should see them basking some of the time, but not ALL of the time. If they never bask OR always bask an adjustment may be needed. This also depends on the requirements of your individual species and their age. Some of the forest species will avoid a bright, hot light. If you have one of these species just watch to see whether they favor one side or the other too much. Sometimes babies will hide a lot too. This is why its important to provide them with hiding spots on both the warm and the cold side of the enclosure, so they can properly regulate their temps, while still feeling secure.