Best (fastest growing) outdoor bush/trees for Sulcatas

taymag

Location (City and/or State)
FL
I have 2 that are growing pretty quick, and I need more outdoor food sources. I have mulberry, strawberry, cactus, hibiscus, aloe but I wouldn't say any of those are "fast" growers. They mainly eat the grass outside, but coming into "winter" (Florida) grass growth slows down to maybe half speed and would like to be able to keep their food supply up

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I got nothing. All my stuff slows down tremendously this time of year and the mulberry trees and grape vines are done for the season. Even my opuntia stop making new pads and I'm left feeding out all the pads that grew over summer. What saves me is all the weeds that sprout up when our winter rains return.

Do they have kudzu vine where you are? Someone with experience will need to confirm, but I read that kudzu is good to feed them. I have no experience with it though since we don't have it here.

If your sulcatas are anywhere near the 10-12 inch mark, it might be time to introduce grass hay into the diet. This makes it MUCH easier to feed them on a daily basis.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
grass hay, mazuri, if they don't eat it, soak it in water to soften. If they still don't eat it, mix it with chopped romaine, escarole or endive.

taymag

FL
Ya I dont like growing vines cause we already have a few kinds that are out of control and pretty tough to tame. I tried the grass hay, man its a good deal too but they dont love it. We still have grass growing so once it slows down maybe they will like it, seems like a best case scenario if they eat hay grass though since its like $20 for 50 pound bail

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA