Best lighting for a baby red foot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Inthevalley

5 Year Member
Hello! I'm receiving my baby redfoot on Tuesday and am so excited! I'm new to being a tortoise owner so am trying to do research and set up her home properly before she arrives. My brother sent me a "Exo Terra Repti Glo 10.0 UVB" bulb...is that a sufficient bulb to get the job done? My sister mentioned she read that that type can cause eye infections? Also do I need a separate heat lamp aside from the UVB?

Thanks for your help!

mainey34

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Peoria, Arizona
Is it a coil type bulb? If so, take it back. A uva/uvb bulb should be sufficient.

Beck

10 Year Member!
Lakeland/Central FL
Sounds like a tube UVB (the coil shaped ones cause the possible eye problems). If so, that's fine and needed for your tort. They do little for heat though. I would suggest a ceramic heat emitter (CHE) for heat. They're easiest on a thermostat, but you can also find the correct height to place it over the enclosure and monitor the temperatures.

Try to get it as soon as possible, so you can tweak anything before your RF arrives. Every system needs at least a little tweaking before its just right.

So exciting for you! What's the rest of the enclosure like?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using TortForum mobile app

Inthevalley

5 Year Member
Thanks!
It is a coil bulb, my brother sent it to me. But I will be ordering a different one just to be safe.

My brother is also going to build me a tortoise box but it'll be a while before I get that, so for now it's just in a rubber maid under bed storage tub...which will do for now since she's still so little :)

kristin_roman

5 Year Member
North Carolina
I use a zoo med power sun bulb, it's UVA UVB and heat all in one! It's a bit pricey but has a one year warrantee on it!ImageUploadedByTortForum1373773330.311637.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Rramagge

5 Year Member