Best/Safest Way to Attach Something to a Sulcata's Back?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deaf Paul

5 Year Member
*dons a flame-proof suit*

I'm a middle school science teacher and we have a young sulcata. The students take it out for walks to allow it to forage and exercise outside of it's turtle table (6 ft by 3 ft, two levels). We have a portable pen for it with a built-in shaded area that we also use when nobody is directly supervising it. That way it can continue to forage on grass/weeds/nearby bushes/fallen flowers on it's own during most of the school day.

Once in a while, a student gets distracted and the turtle almost gets stepped on by a passing student/staff or somebody picks up the portable pen, not seeing the tiny turtle that it's containing and moves the pen somewhere else, leaving the turtle to roam freely around campus. We have been lucky in always being able to find the turtle but I don't want to keep pressing our luck. I would like to be able to secure something very visible to the turtle's shell until it gets larger. A little flag, a reflective ribbon, a brightly colored piece of yarn...

Taken from another thread, and thought this would deserve it's own thread. I like Stephanie's thinking, and it shows I'm not the only one who's wondering how to best and most safely do this.

Stephanie Logan said:
Paul, if you find out a good way to keep track of your tort, let me know. I bought a red, light velcro strap for my 6" Chaco tortoise to make it easier to find her when she gets the exploration impulse in our big back yard. It doesn't stay on though when she crawls through tight places or thick foliage. I put bright nail polish on her last year before I knew that wasn't good for her shell, so I took it off. I might try a piece or yarn or soft cord next--she's significantly pyramided so that might actually help to secure the string in place between her scutes.