Best way to track temps outside?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thatrebecca

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Los Angeles, CA
What's the best way to track temps in our outdoor enclosure? How about in the burrow we built? I've heard some folks mention a temp gun. Is that better than a plain old thermometer? Advice on brands/sources is much appreciated.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
There is a high/low thermometer that shows you how high and how low the temperature was during a 24 hour period. That might work for what you want.

This is just one example:

http://www.sperdirect.com/min-max-thermometer-push-button-367-prd1.htm

I'm not a fan of the temp gun, though many on here are. The one I have says you hold it 2' from what you want to measure. Well, I'm not good at estimating 2', and it makes a difference if you're further away or closer than 2'...so it isn't accurate for me.

I just have regular thermometers hanging inside my tortoise houses.

thatrebecca

5 Year Member
Los Angeles, CA
Cool, thanks, Yvonne! That looks perfect, as I'd like to know how high temps are getting in the burrow when I'm at work during the day -- if it's a 95-degree day here in LA, what is it in Casa Tortoise? That sort of thing.

Millerlite

10 Year Member!
Southern Calif.
I like the ones with probs. almost all f the ones have high and low records, target they are 4 dollars

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I like the digital ones with a remote probe. Some have a wireless probe and some have a little probe on a wire. Wherever you put the probe (down in your burrow, for example) it records the temps. High, low and current. Some of them also do humidity. I get my wireless ones form Lowes for about $20.