box turtle habitat and questions

DayDreamer

Location (City and/or State)
San Juan PR
hello everyone :tort:

I am a bit new to turtles only ever having a RES when I was very young. we are planning on getting a box turtle in april, and until then I plan on building the habitat, and learning as much as I can about them (obviously so the little guy can have a happy and healthy life)

we live in puerto rico where the temp. stays in the 80's year round. his main habitat will be indoors as there is a ton of cats in the area. however he would be taken outside daily for a bit of real sunlight. Im wondering with this temperature will he need a heat lamp or would a uv and basking light be fine? I dont want to over heat him, we have no a/c or fans in the living room just open windows with a nice breeze.

we are also planning on creating his habitat as close to natural as possible this would include planting live edible plants inside it, aswell as hopefully growing grass and dandelions... however my worry is that if i do this i will be unable to properly clean the habitat without ripping the plant life out. the in closure will be 5 foot by 3 foot and if i can find them i would be putting earth worms in the dirt to help keep it clean. (good or horrible idea? im kinda worried it might stink if i do this the habitat wont be clean) like i said we do want to keep it as natural as possible so any other ideas that might make it easy for clean up are more then welcome!

we also have the idea of adding a very shallow pond with a fountain in a corner of the habitat so the water stays fresh for him/her to soak in and drink possibly made with rough rocks to help keep the nails trimmed.