Box Turtle or Russian Tortoise

south12_9

Location (City and/or State)
Chicago
I would love to get a Box Turtle or a Russian Tortoise... I have a lot of experience and knowledge with Water Turtles... I've been doing my research on both...

Any additional information you guys might think I need to know or what you guys suggest...

T Smart

5 Year Member
Chicago, IL
I would love to get a Box Turtle or a Russian Tortoise... I have a lot of experience and knowledge with Water Turtles... I've been doing my research on both...

Any additional information you guys might think I need to know or what you guys suggest...

I have no experience with box turtles.

If you got a Russian, I'm assuming it will be housed indoors most of the time? And would it be a hatchling or adult?

Although Russians are small, the minimum size enclosure would be 8' x 4' (For an adult). A smaller closed chamber is ideal for a hatchling.

Hatchlings need more attention, but the diet is identical.

There are a lot of "Care Sheets" here on the forum, if you haven't read them yet.

south12_9

Chicago
I have no experience with box turtles.

If you got a Russian, I'm assuming it will be housed indoors most of the time? And would it be a hatchling or adult?

Although Russians are small, the minimum size enclosure would be 8' x 4' (For an adult). A smaller closed chamber is ideal for a hatchling.

Hatchlings need more attention, but the diet is identical.

There are a lot of "Care Sheets" here on the forum, if you haven't read them yet.
Yes I read the care sheets on both... I really want it to be CB tho and it don't matter if it's a hatchling a juvenile or an adult..

T Smart

5 Year Member
Chicago, IL
Yes I read the care sheets on both... I really want it to be CB tho and it don't matter if it's a hatchling a juvenile or an adult..

I'm not sure about box turtles, but with Russians, you'll either be able to get a CB hatchling or a WC adult. It's very rare to find a CB adult Russian.

south12_9

Chicago