Breeding Clutchmates

Status
Not open for further replies.

DesertGrandma

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
Hello everyone,

Can you tell me your thoughts on breeding clutchmates.
Thank you.

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
I'm not sure I just think that there could be issues genetically with this, maybe shell issues or other deformities... I have no first hand knowledge just a guess on my part...

jaizei

Unknown Member
10 Year Member!
Today is my birthday!
Earth
I think it should be avoided.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
I don't believe you would want to breed direct brother to sister....as with many other animals you will want to at least skip a couple of generations before you breed back into their same line....

Neltharion

10 Year Member!
Northern California
In other reptiles that reach maturity quickly (i.e. leopard geckos, bearded dragons), clutchmates are bred together or offspring is bred back to parent. This often occurs because certain traits/mutations are seen in offspring, and the breeder wants to continue breeding out those traits.

Tail and limb deformities, stunted growth, enlarged heads, are occasionally seen in bearded dragons that are inbred. Do a search on leopard gecko enigma syndrome. That's an example of genetic defects brought about by inbreeding.

Weda737

5 Year Member
NC
breeding the child to parent = "line breeding" breeding siblings= just plain wrong. Not that I really agree with either, but that's how morphs are created.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
It probably wouldn't/ couldn't happen very often. Most times all the babies in a clutch would be the same sex.

cdmay

10 Year Member!
Somewhere in Florida
GBtortoises said:
If at all possible it should probably be avoided in captive breeding where there is limited genetic diversity. But it probably takes place in the wild frequently.