Burmese Star Hatchling Care Advice

AriadneHam

Hi everyone,

I'm new to raising hatchling tortoises, as I've only had an already fully grown box turtle. I got my male Burmese star tortoise, captive bred, from reputable source and have had him for a little over a week.

Anyways, I'm a bit worried about my little guy as. All he wants to do is sleep/hide in his hide. He doesn't voluntarily eat(I have to hold food in front of him), and he doesn't bask, ever. I understand that he is only a month old and will want to find a hiding spot from predators, but he doesn't get any UVB light in a day. If I don't take him outside to the backyard for sunlight, he will stay inside his hide all day, no food. When he does eat, he will eat about 2 small spring mix leaves, max, before going back to the hide. I don't know if this is just because he is still adjusting to the new environment or because he is still a baby, or if the brightness of the florescent is blinding him.

My biggest concern is that he is not getting enough calcium or nutrients through food or exposure to UVB to be able to produce vitamin D on his own. I don't want him to suffer from malnutrition or set him on a dark path for when he's older.

Here is his current tank set up.
He is in a 24" long tank. With two hides. The terra cotta has damp sphagnum moss at 80% humidity, 82F. The other side of the tank has his log hide at 53% humidity, 85F. The basking stone in the center of the tank is set at 39% humidity, 92F.

The lighting is a 40w basking bulb light on top through a mesh top and a florescent ZOOmed 5.0 UVB 15w, 18" tube inside the enclosure.