CB Gopherus berlandieri with Mycoplasma

hstingray

Location (City and/or State)
Maryland
I acquired a group of (4) legal Mexican imported CB male Gopherus berlandieri almost two years ago from Snakes at Sunset/Michael Barrera. Right after receiving them, all 4 started showing symptoms of Mycoplasma, and have had these ever since, so I've kept them in strict isolation. All four have done fine all things considered since I've gotten them, being quite active and pretty good feeders. I was just curious at this point if anyone out there has any Mycoplasma positive berlandieri currently under their care?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
If they weren't tested, then you don't know for sure it's mycoplasma. Stress can also bring on the same symptoms. Stress=mating, hibernation, competition, etc.

Mycoplasma-positive tortoises can live normal lives. But they are contagious.

hstingray

Maryland
Oh, yeah, I've had lots of experience with Mycoplasma, and it's pretty much a guarantee that these guys are positive based on chronic symptoms. Don't really want to get into a squabble match over this, but just wanted to see if there are any individuals out there that are dealing with positive groups.

BeeBee*BeeLeaves

5 Year Member
Orange County, So Cal
I thought I read somewhere that it is a super expensive test, and not many places do it, to find out for sure. Bet people have tortoises with it, but do not actually know because of above. It's been awhile when I recall reading that, so may be now it is more accessible for homie tortoise keepers vs scientific and more hard core keepers.

hstingray

Maryland