Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Great picture. they are giving you the look like -you are bothering me-
Do you breed these guys

Tortus

5 Year Member
Maryland
That reminds me of the kitchen scene from Gremlins where they had food all over the place. lol

Aren't chacos rare and hard to keep alive in captivity? You don't hear much about them on the boards. I like their look, almost like a mini sulcata.

lovelyrosepetal

5 Year Member
Oklahoma
I know that Chacos are rare in the US but in Thailand you can find them all over. There is a member on this forum who says that there they are as common as sulcatas are here.

Are you breeding them and if so, have you been successful? I have heard it is hard to successfully breed them in captivity...I have no personal knowledge but I have heard that.

I also like the look of Chacos and would like to have one someday. :)

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Love them. Thanks for the pic. They look super healthy and their shells are sooooo nice. Did you raise them? How old are they? I hope you get lots and lots of babies from them.

tortadise

10 Year Member!
Tropical South Texas
They are relatively difficult for most people to care for. breeding typically needs to be with very mature females. Egg bound tends to play a large role in this species as they lay rather large eggs. Another key element is that they do not lay many eggs either. Eggs usually take 350-400 days with numerous diapose sequences. They are just great species, but not for the masses.

lovelyrosepetal

5 Year Member
Oklahoma