City botanical garden mixing tort species

KrissyLeigh

Today is my birthday!
Location (City and/or State)
south Texas
So I went to the city botanical gardens today and noticed that their tortoise enclosures mixed species. From everything I have read (I am no expert), this seems like not a good idea? Wondering if I should voice my opinion, and how the best way to do that is, since I don't have any qualifiers to make them pay attention. What do y'all think? Is it a problem? Is this common practise at preserves and such? What should I say, should I say anything?

So in one pen they have 2 sulcatas and one redfoot.

In a second pen they have box turtles (?), Texas tortoises (?), hermann tortoises (?), and a couple others I have no idea what they are. None of the turtles / tortoises had signs or identifying information. Note that I am NOT positive on my IDs.

I am including pictures. If y'all could help me ID and give me advice or opinions, that would be most welcome. I live in south Texas, if that is any help.
DSC_1146.JPG DSC_1155.JPG DSC_1156.JPG DSC_1162.JPG DSC_1161.JPG DSC_1163.JPG

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Aside from the micro organisms being different inside each species, that make each other sick, sulcatas require a totally different type of habitat from the redfooted tortoise. They don't even eat the same stuff. But you probably won't be able to convince them to change their ways.

I think your best bet would be to give them a good care sheet for each species and humbly suggest that people might be better served learning the correct way these animals should be set up.

Sulcatas
Redfooted
Ornate box turtle
Hermanns
three toes box turtle
Texas tortoises

Remember - be humble not accusatory.