Coconut Fiber - Messy, Sticking, Tortoise Struggling

Hello.

First time with a tortoise so excuse my questions. We put down a bed of loose coconut substrate.

It seems like it's too loose despite attempts to pack it down and mist he. He kind looks like a kid in a ball pit. Eventually he gets where he's going but seems to struggle.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks!

pfara

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Maryland
How moist is it? It becomes more compact and dense the wetter it is. I've never seen problems with tortoise traction when using prepared coco bricks.

It's not too wet, just misted it.

Sorry, I'm new at this... Do I really wet it? They guy at the store gave me Loose Coconut Fiber and said it's the right stuff.

ImageUploadedByTortForum1387250660.089695.jpg

ImageUploadedByTortForum1387250674.827959.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Ok, I'll spray more.

Right now when he tries to walk, he can get around, but sometimes his feet just push in place and he doesn't get anywhere...

Thanks for your help. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

pfara

10 Year Member!
Maryland
I'm not experienced with this but I'm guessing the bag of loose coco coir is equivalent to rehydrated coco bricks that dried out. If so, I probably would have dumped that bag into a bucket of warm water then strained and pressed the excess water out to get the right consistency that you're looking for. I don't know if misting will do too much. You can also dump water into the enclosure and allow the coir to wick the water up.

edwardbo

5 Year Member