Concerned for my baby Russian

DeltaVulpes

Location (City and/or State)
Pennsylvania
I’ll be the first to admit I’m extremely new to tortoise keeping and I don’t feel like I know as much as I should. I got Avery (four month old, unsexed) Russian from a semi local reptile specialty shop about two weeks ago. And as of late I haven’t been seeing them eat at all save for a bite every other day. They never really ate much since I’ve brought them home, the most I’ve seen them eat in a day is three (chopped) pieces of kale, so not much at all. And it’s only decreased from there. They live in a 20 gallon tank with coco coir as the substrate, I keep it between 40-50% humidity and the basking spot is around 90 degrees. The ambient temp is 80, formerly in the high 70s. At night it gets to the low 60s, They have a hide but prefer to burrow, and have a shallow water dish. I got them to poop a day ago and it seemed normal but nothing has changed since. And I’ve tried offering all sorts of different foods, dandelion, grass, aloe, tomato, even those stupid pellets. I’m racking my brain, I just want this little thing to be okay.

jsheffield

5 Year Member
Westmoreland, NH
It's hard to go wrong raising the humidity a bit, and soaking them daily in warm water.

My Russian is a sucker for hibiscus flowers, and that's how I got him started eating when he first came to live with me.

Jamie

DeltaVulpes

Pennsylvania
I’ve been doing the daily soaks, they will eat a little bit of greens on occasion (maybe every other day) but it’s hardly anything. I’ll give the hibiscus a shot if I can find any, difficult this time of year. As an update, I’m sitting beside them while they’re out of the tank for a little and they keep throwing their head around and scratching at the side of their head. They have also constantly been biting at the air.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!