Concerned new tortoise owner (sleepy/lethargic)

PenguinGod

5 Year Member
Yay posting cherry!

First off, I am brand new to tortoise ownership, so even though I've spent hours reading these forums and other resources for any and all tortoise info I will take any more advice you have to offer!

We got a Russian tortoise from tortoise supply a month ago, so he is a wild caught. My main concern is he sleeps a lot, like a whole lot. if i just let him sleep and never woke him up i'm not sure he would get up! When i do get him up he heads for the edge of the table and digs a whole lot then goes back to sleep, unless i place him under the heat lamp, then he just lays there and sleeps. Now we have taken him outside and he ran around and sampled some grasses, he also splashes around when he is being soaked, but for the most part not much activity in the tortoise table. (which sucks because we are in an apartment). He does eat an ok amount every couple days but he is not interested in more than that. He does have a vet appointment along with a parasite check set up for Friday.

http://imgur.com/a/er4ST Here is a album with some photos of the table. its 24"x55" using 2 exoterra 10.0 lights and a ceramic heat emitter. the temp is usually 80s on the warm side and 70s on the cooler, the humidity is kept in the 40s using an adjustable speed case fan i installed in the side (capable of changing the air out in here twice a minute if needed). substrate is straight coco coir about 5-6" deep.

Any and all advice is welcome!

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
Welcome!
That's a LOT of light for such a small space and the humidity is too low. Use just one light and see if he seems more comfortable. The fact that he perks up outside is your indication that something is wrong inside.