Constant Sneezing

Status
Not open for further replies.

irEric

5 Year Member
So i started to notice my little tort started to sneeze constantly. At first it was just very few but by the third day it became quite frequent. I think it may have got worse when i gave it a soak. the water may have gotten colder after ten minutes because it started to sneeze.

There is no bubbles from the nose, was quite active after the hand feeding. It seems to really get into the feeding as well. I don't have a ceramic heat emitter so should i leave the MVB on for the night? It's currently burrowed under the basking area.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
I'm not a greek expert, but here are some tortoise generalities to start answering some of your questions:
1. When a tort gets sick I always check the enclosure temps and if everything is as it should I bump them up 10-15 degrees. This usually helps their immune system and helps them get well sooner.
2. All torts need it dark at night. You can get a cheap black, blue or red bulb from a hardware store for night time until you get a CHE.
3. If he is always on the warm side, under the basking lamp, its a good indicator that your temps are too low all the way around and he's desperately trying to warm up to "operating" temperature.

If everything else is okay and your temps are good, he may have something in his nose causing the sneezing. If you use a flashlight, you may be able to peer in there and have a look.

Our greek experts will need some more info to help you better.
What are your four temps? Warm side, cool side, basking spot and night.
How big is the enclosure?
What substrate are you using and how moist is it?
Humidity?
Diet?

Post a pic of your enclosure and then the Greek folks will really have some answers for you.

Missy

5 Year Member
Illinois