Desperate to find help on my Greek after YEARS of false information

fowlerspetcarecc

Location (City and/or State)
West yarmouth, MA
Hi guys! So I am new to this, but recently was introduced to this site, and after looking through many posts I'm hoping I am able to get the help I need before my head explodes from being beyond overwhelmed.

So to start off, I got my greek from someone I had gone to middle school with. This family was going to just let him out in the wild, because they couldn't care for him anymore. I took him in and they told me he eats iceberg lettuce. Being a young kid without much access to the internet, I didn't do much research on him. Fast track a few years, I find out that iceberg lettuce is not good for him and just pointless.

Over the last 2 years, going to 2 different vets, and googling a bunch and reading all different information, which I know is not the proper care I can give him since I see so many different answers on what's safe and what isn't. I have 2 main concerns now that I am treating him for a respiratory infection, and his shell is not looking as healthy as it has for years. I live on Cape Cod, MA and after going to a few garden stores and pet stores, I can't find anyone who has answers on what's safe and what isn't.

I just bought the Eco Earth loose coconut fiber substrate, plantation soil that says its coconut fiber substrate ( I will post photos ) and peat moss. I have read of all different blends, and just don't know what would be best for him.