Diff. between lights

Status
Not open for further replies.

amajo75

5 Year Member
Hello all....I am new and loving your very informative site. Thanks to all of you for sharing your experiences!

I am looking to set up a new indoor enclosure. Will I need two lights (UVB and Heat Lamp) and a heat rock? Just want to make sure I am considering the correct lights.

Thanks
John

This part was said by Wellington (Barb)

Hello and Welcome:). What kind of tortoise? No heat rocks, they are dangerous. The Mercury vapor bulb gives out both heat and uv. Then a ceramic heat emitter is really good for colder nights, as they give off heat, but no light. If you use a fluorescent tube uv then a basking bulb will be needed and still possibly a ceramic heat emitter for night.

Back to John...Russian or possibly Leopard.

John
I am still learning here. So please bear with me.....the Mercury Vapor bulb is different than the CHE and different than the basking bulb?

Due to a Moderation malfunction, several posts were merged into one post, but they are from two posters (John and Barb). It could not be fixed, but I hope it is now more clear for you all to understand what has happened above. Thanks... the Moderation Team

mchong9606

10 Year Member!