Difference between sulcata and desert?

Allison Hurtado

I've had a tortoise for about 10 years but I just saw someone with Sulcata tortoises for sale and now I'm not sure if I have a desert tortoise or a sulcata. Can anyone tell me the difference between the two?

Attachments

• IMG_20140523_071353_799.jpg
    IMG_20140523_071353_799.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 104

Tactical Tort

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Northern CA
Welcome to the forum! I love your tort!!! :D
I know others will answer better than I can. :) I'm still new at the Tortoise thing. :D

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Allison and welcome to the Forum!

That tortoise looks similar to a leopard tortoise, but I think its a sulcata.

The main difference between a sulcata and a desert tortoise is that the sulcata gets much, much bigger. Sulcata don't hibernate and you have to keep them warm in the winter time. Other than that, they eat the same stuff and basically live in the same environment except for warmer winters for the sulcata.

Please post more pictures of your tortoise...looking down from above, from the front and the underside too

474158gy04azrh2x.gif

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
That's a sulcata, Allison. How do you care for the tortoise during cold weather?

474158gy04azrh2x.gif

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
You have a sulcata. He is on the small side for a 10 year old. Where a bouts in the country do you live?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Tom: I have a sneaking suspicion that this tortoise has been kept as a desert tortoise, and hibernated during the winters. This would explain his small size and unhealthy-looking shell.

474158gy04azrh2x.gif

Allison Hurtado