Do I hibernate my tortoise? Species? Help!

Rosario

Location (City and/or State)
Ontario, CA
I found my tortoise 4 months ago, I’m new to owning one. Do I hibernate? Does anybody know the species? I’m aware that not all need to be hibernated. I’m assuning it’s not a baby but it’s less than 5 years old, anybody have an idea please? Here is the house I made him :)

373081B2-EC9A-4314-90F4-D86196940134.jpeg 1A881D6E-1636-4278-9464-5C2E27BBDD71.jpeg EA3F5265-7E3D-45B4-BB23-CC7E10B29D95.jpeg 45BF85F5-F41F-4C1E-974C-80BF67ABA62E.jpeg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Rosario, and welcome to the Forum!

Many years ago, I was just like you. . . that is, I would find a tortoise and put it into the backyard, not giving a single thought to finding out what it was or how to feed it.

But in this enlightened day and age, we now know that there are many species of tortoise and not all of them eat the same diet or take the same kind of care.

What you have there is someone's escaped pet. I can tell it's not a wild tortoise by the bumps on the shell. He has been raised by someone in a dry environment, and that someone has probably been pretty sad these past four months not being able to find their tortoise. Did you try to find his owner?

Your new tortoise is a desert tortoise, more than likely from the Mojave desert (Gopherus agassizii). They forage on grasses and weeds and DO NOT EAT fruit.

It wouldn't be a good idea to allow this tortoise to brumate this year because you haven't had him long enough to know if he's a good weight for brumation or if he's healthy enough.

You'll need to set him up indoors with a good UVB light to keep him warm and in a large enough enclosure that he has room to wander and exercise.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England