Dry Tortoise Foods

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zerotrek

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
I have been using Ectotherm's Sulcata Gold dry food for the past two years. It was cheap (10lbs for $35), my Sulcata loved it and he never seemed healthier. He is 4 years old and I fed him mostly home grown dandelion before I found the Sulcata Gold, it was a revelation and saved me much time and effort.

Unfortunately Ectotherm is located in the midwest US and it seems there business has been destroyed by the flooding there this past spring. It's been 5 months and they are still not back in business. I wish them the best, but have not been able to find a suitable replacement food, especially during winter months. I recently saw something called "Healthy Herp Tortoise Food Instant Meal". Has anyone tried this or can recommend other dried foods? Thank you.

P.S. He's never eaten hay, I've ordered it many times and tried moistening it, but no go. I've been feeding him some cactus I can order online, but this is much more expensive.

Itort

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Iowa
I would suggest Mazuri for your sulcata. What type of hay have you tried and where are you located ?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Mazuri is even cheaper than your Ectotherm. You can buy 25lbs of Mazuri for around $18 or $20. If you have a feed dealer in your area who handles Ralston-Purina products, he can order the Mazuri Tortoise Diet for you. It will have to be special ordered, but they can and will do it.

Yvonne

Zerotrek

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Thank you I will try the Mazuri Tortoise food. I live on Long Island, NY and I have tried Timothy, Bermuda & Orchard. I'm also considering Oxbowhay.com's Hay Cakes, has anyone tried this?

Zerotrek

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Thank you for the info.