Dry vs humid vs wet enclosure

TortillaTheTortioise

Location (City and/or State)
N/A
I would like u to share your experiences raising hatchlings in the threads titled conditions. I'm doing research on how I should raise my 1 month hatchling as getting the right conditions while they are still young is important.

My angulate tortoise is currently in a dry environment, I will sometimes mist the enclosure on rainy days.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I've been raising tortoises for over 30 years. 99% of that time they were raised on alfalfa pellets under a 100 watt hot light. I lost some, and some lived. The ones that lived were pyramided and stunted.

The 1% of the time was the recent past, in closed chambers with no desiccating light, but a tube type fluorescent bulb with a radiant heat panel for heat. I also had moist substrate and plants in the closed chamber. So far using this method I've cared for several clutches of leopard babies, a couple sulcata babies, desert tortoise babies and a couple of box turtle babies. All these babies have grown smooth shells, show no health problems and the ones I've kept are growing much bigger than the beef jerky babies I raised in the past.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
If you do a research on here you will find thousands of threads or posts on hot and dry causes pyramiding while hot and humid doesnt or less. Take the mercury vapor bulbs away and you will have a better result of no pyramiding.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I would like u to share your experiences raising hatchlings in the threads titled conditions. I'm doing research on how I should raise my 1 month hatchling as getting the right conditions while they are still young is important.

My angulate tortoise is currently in a dry environment, I will sometimes mist the enclosure on rainy days.