Edible Plants for Hatchling Sulcatas?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AdamR

5 Year Member
As the title states, I'm looking to see which of the plants I have easy access to are ok for a hatchling sully. These are what I have around the yard and in pots. There are * next to the ones I'm most concerned about.

Bermuda Grass
Mondo Grass**
Clover
Dandelions
Wild Strawberries**
Wild Onion**
Crape Myrtle Tree**
Pecan Tree** (Are the pecans bad?)
Maple Trees
Aloe Vera in Pots**
Azaleas******** (Lots of them)

I intend to plant some Opuntias soon so I should have those ready. My neighbor has a mulberry tree and I can get plenty of timothy hay and Spring Mix.

I am in Central AR, if anyone knows the area and can point to a good plant or place to buy them!
Thanks for your help!

AdamR

5 Year Member
Thanks both of you! Yvonne, that's ironic...I'm a student at the UA!
However I didn't find anything on either site about the mondo grass? I have a lot of it and if it is a problem then I will place the pen in a different area. Anyone know?

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Las Vegas, NV
I can't find anything on Mondo grass. I say it's better to be safe than sorry, so place the pen in a different spot until you know for sure it's okay.

AdamR

5 Year Member
I agree, if we're not positive the mondo is ok then the little one will not be eating it! The rest of the plants have been here for some time and I have only ever used normal topsoil or just dirt from the ground. I don't treat the back yard with anything so no chemicals to worry about!

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
my wife and I have purchased a lot of new plants for our Sulcata to eat and we are sticking to organic top soil and potting soil to avoid any type of chemicals.

DeanS

SULCATA OASIS
10 Year Member!
SoCal