Egg hatching rear foot first???and slowly

Crzt4torts

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Northeastern US
My third Russian egg is starting to hatch - a rear foot has emerged. Is this normal?
12 hours since the little leg poked out of the one end, still no further progress.
It is only 5 days behind its clutchmate.
The egg however was much bigger and longer ( long and narrow).
Could there be twins in there not positioned right to hatch out?
How long do I leave it with no progress other than one rear leg sticking out?
I am a novice at this, I am probably over concerned
But seeking advice.
I will try to get picture, but do not want to disturb the egg

Crzt4torts

5 Year Member
Northeastern US
20160312_093104.jpg 20160311_183347.jpg 12 hours elapsed between lower picture and this morning upper picture. Little foot was sticking straight out, he pulled down before I snapped photo.

cdmay

10 Year Member!
Somewhere in Florida
Keep the environment moist but otherwise I'm sure everything will be fine.
Sometimes a hatching neonate sits in the egg for a day or so after the membrane is broken.

Crzt4torts

5 Year Member
Northeastern US
Keep the environment moist but otherwise I'm sure everything will be fine.
Sometimes a hatching neonate sits in the egg for a day or so after the membrane is broken.
Weird that it is a foot instead of the beak, isn't it?

shellfreak

10 Year Member!
I have had this happen a few times with marginated. No rhyme or reason. But to be frank, I'm hoping you have twins...

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
In the first clutch of eggs I ever hatched, I had one who took three to four days (old memory) to decide to finish hatching. He never even stuck a good out. Was a Bells hingeback and turned out just fine, as for me, I got more grey hairs. :)

Crzt4torts

5 Year Member
Northeastern US
After not any real progress, I panicked! Only that rear foot sticking out, no beak pipping.