eggcited but unprepared

RockyMountainMan

5 Year Member
one of my female Russian Tortoises has been digging nests recently. i have been keeping an eye on her closely. she is about 6 inches SCL and weighed 750g. she looked still young to me and small. i tried to touch the inner hind legs to feel for eggs but I am not experienced so i did not find or feel any egg in her. however when i walk to the backyard to feed my tortoises, i was still very surprised to see eggs lying on the ground.

she did dig a nice hole and buried one egg nicely, another one half exposed and two on the surface. it was sad to find a large egg cracked open a hole. she seems to be an inexperienced mom.

RockyMountainMan

5 Year Member
In the first photo below, you can spot two eggs with one along the brick edge and other one to the right. The one close to the brick has a hole on the side facing the brick, possibly caused by the egg rolling towards the brick. In the third photo below, you can see the nest with one egg half exposed and another egg 2 inches below.

I am totally unprepared and need advice on how to quickly set up for incubating. If anyone local would like to help out, please contact me.

Sean

Attachments

• RT1.jpg
    RT1.jpg
    210.8 KB · Views: 57
  • RT2.jpg
    RT2.jpg
    315 KB · Views: 57
  • RT4.jpg
    RT4.jpg
    344.3 KB · Views: 55
  • RT6.jpg
    RT6.jpg
    130.5 KB · Views: 62

tortoisetime565

Location (City and/or State)
Oklahoma
I would say get them in an incubator! If they are viable you want them to be healthy.. If you don't plan to incubate them then you need to properly dispose of them.

RockyMountainMan

5 Year Member
I would say get them in an incubator! If they are viable you want them to be healthy.. If you don't plan to incubate them then you need to properly dispose of them.