Egyptian Tortoises Outdoors in FL

JTaylor

5 Year Member
Hello everyone-

I have been seriously considering purchasing a pair of egyptian tortoises to breed in the future. I live in Orlando, FL and would like to keep them on my screened porch that receives morning sunlight (safe from predators, roof over screen so no rain gets on porch) in an arid setup tortoise table. FYI, I have several years of tortoise experience with redfoots. I have been researching their care, and the only concern I have is the humidity. The average relative humidity in Orlando is around 74%, with it being higher in the Summer months. Of course I would bring them indoors during Spring/Fall/Winter chills. I was just wondering if the surrounding air humidity itself is more of an issue or is it more of a substrate issue? I was planning on keeping them on calcium sand initially as suggested by the breeder and then progress to oyster shell. Does anyone have experience with keeping these guys outdoors in FL as long as they aren't exposed to rain/excessive moisture? If I have to house them completely indoors, I may not end up buying them. The breeder (John Coakley, great guy, btw) here in FL keeps his in his garage that is not air conditioned/no humidity control. I talked to him and he has never kept his outdoors due to fear of predation (wouldn't be an issue with my porch). Anyone have experience keeping these guys outdoors in FL?

Thanks in advance,
Jeff

Turtlepete

Location (City and/or State)
South Florida
Hey Jeff,

Cool to hear your buying from John! I've met him before, he shared a table right next to me at the NRBE last year, haha. Personally I would imagine that as long as the substrate and surroundings aren't moist, then ambient humidity may not be so much of a problem?…I've never kept Egyptians though, or any humidity-sensitive species, so I definitely can't speak from experience.