Enclosure top ideas

Status
Not open for further replies.

Redstrike

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
New York
Hello everyone,
I've completed most of my first enclosure for my future Redfoot (see attached picture). I realize the humidity requirements of RF's is considerable and, living in the Northeast (where winters are cold & dry), I was thinking of enclosing sections of the top with plexiglass.
Here's my dilemma, as a graduate student, I can't afford to pay $20+ for an 18x20" piece of plexiglass, as I'll undoubtedly need more than one piece. I've considered a shower curtain, but this is not very durable and quite cheap.

Any ideas/thoughts?

Thanks!

Attachments

• CIMG2983.JPG
    CIMG2983.JPG
    947.7 KB · Views: 82

Redstrike

10 Year Member!
New York
Laura said:
i assume your new tort is a tiny hatchling?

It will be, yes. I don't have it yet, I'm waiting until I have everything ready before I obtain it.

bobbymoore

5 Year Member
Stoney creek ontario
ive got a 10x8 tortoise table for my red foot just keep it wet and check on it 2 times a day i wet it in the morning then again at about 4-5pm then its still good untill the next morning

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Wow, Chris: That's a nice-sized tort table. Your new baby is a lucky little tortoise.

It doesn't look to swift, but to keep my indoor habitats more humid I fold together some sheets of aluminum foil wrap to make a large sheet, and partially cover the habitat with the foil. You'll have lights and fixtures hanging all over the place, and the foil can go up over the lights and not be a fire hazard.

jeffbens0n

5 Year Member
Glenmoore, PA
How about saran wrap?? Its cheap and could be replaced when you need to remove it for whatever reason. Plus you can see through it.

Guggie

10 Year Member!
Vernon Hills, IL