Enclosure wax - which oil is best to use

fforfaye

Location (City and/or State)
Notts, UK
Hi All,

Im very new to this, so apologies in advance for any dumb questions! Im yet to purchase my tortoise but Im just prepping the build of the enclosure. Ive decided Im going to melt down beeswax and mix it with an oil to make the sealant for the wooden enclosure.
Is there a type of oil that is best to use, friendly for the tortoise or that I should be avoiding?

Also, Im planning to get a single small male, probably either a Hermann's or Horsefield. Is there a kind of wood thats best to use or does it not matter?

Thank you in advance for any responses :)

Faye

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hi All,

Im very new to this, so apologies in advance for any dumb questions! Im yet to purchase my tortoise but Im just prepping the build of the enclosure. Ive decided Im going to melt down beeswax and mix it with an oil to make the sealant for the wooden enclosure.
Is there a type of oil that is best to use, friendly for the tortoise or that I should be avoiding?

Also, Im planning to get a single small male, probably either a Hermann's or Horsefield. Is there a kind of wood thats best to use or does it not matter?

Faye
Best to not use wood. There is no paint or sealant that will stand up to the constant moisture, unless you go to pond resins or non-toxic boat paints and primers.

Sheets of expanded PVC work best and last forever. In your climate, it will be MUCH easier to maintain favorable heat and humidity in a large closed chamber.

The following thread will offer a lot of help. Know ahead of time that most breeders, vets, and especially pet shops are going to give you the wrong info and sell you the wrong products. We've been doing it so wrong for decades, and not everyone has kept up.

Questions are welcome.

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA