Extended Tortoise enclosure

aangry_aardvark

5 Year Member
I have recently acquired a friends russian tortoise as they have gone to uni and were unable to take him. Being generally good with animals and having a particular interest in reptiles I agreed to look after Eric. However when I got him I felt a bit sorry for him as he lived in such a tiny little space. A couple of weeks ago i decided to extend his home a bit and this is the result. I added a second floor to his previous home with extra lighting and I also added some decor for him, such as rocks, logs, moss, cuttle fish and spider plants for him to use and explore. His favorite area is the ladder i made for him. he spends most of his day moving up and down it and often just basking on it.

Please let me know what you think. I am very new to tortoise care and intend on giving eric the bet conditions i can provide. I am under the impression that he had not been very well cared for previously, no calcium powder, incorrect food, poor substrate and humidity levels etc. In a way I am trying to get him back to full health at the moment. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Eric is eating but not a huge amount, maybe a couple of small leaves a day. Any thoughts on how to encourage him to eat more?

So far I think he is happy with his new home. I have definitely noticed an improvement in his mood since i have redesigned his home :)
tort table.jpg
tort table2.jpg
tort table3.jpg
tort table4.jpg
tort table6.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Aardy, and welcome to the Forum!!

I like what you've done to improve Eric's living space. I especially like the long wander along the wall, except that it's too dark.

I would like to see you change out that coiled bulb for a tube-type UVB bulb. The tube offers more UVB, and the coil might damage his eyes.