Eye problem/“failure to thrive”?

CincyTort26

Location (City and/or State)
Cincinnati, OH
Hi all! Baby Aziza (we have a name!) has been here about a week, but I’m not seeing her as active as I would have expected. She also seems to be having trouble with her eyes, keeping them closed often, even when soaking, and being very slow to open them when I “wake her up”

I have zero CFLs in her enclosure.

she has a CHE, regular light bulb, and long tube UV bulb.
I’ve caught her munching on some of the romane growing in her enclosure, but not much, and won’t touch the grass/clover/dandelions I’ve offered.

temps range from 79-108
Just installed the humidity gauge today, but it’s VERY humid in there.

Any ideas? I’m thinking maybe deworming is needed, what is typically used? In another life I was a vet tech and have a great exotics vet, but with the current situation... not sure this would be considered “essential”.....

F634E24B-4FA9-4EEB-9331-F0A8DA3F5663.jpeg307A9503-2EB0-4911-BB35-51E6B3B560CD.jpeg307A9503-2EB0-4911-BB35-51E6B3B560CD.jpeg72001289-BCB6-4774-9ADE-7E9C1A4D4EF1.jpeg

Maggie3fan

5 Year Member
PacificNorthWest
First of all...most babies will not eat grass or weeds...it would be better for them...but...I feed babies Spring Mix cut into mouth sized bites for babies...I add the better weeds etc...but just a little and there again cut it up...You are dealing with a baby who needs to be treated like a baby...plz read all the information at the top of the Sulcata thread...for better advice we need pictures of your habitat with light, temps etc....

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
First of all...most babies will not eat grass or weeds...
I think this depends on the source, and also on the individual. My babies eat ONLY grass and weeds from the day they hatch. If they were started on lettuce at the breeders place, then yes, it can take some time to get them on better foods.

CincyTort26

Cincinnati, OH