Family seeking first tortoise!

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
Thanks,
Maybe I should rephrase my original question:

Are there any small species I should avoid...considering I live in a humid condition?
no not really none come to mind.

Heath87

OK...thanks to everyone! This was a good experience and I'm really excited. I have one more question...Cherry Head or Mediterranean Species? Remember I am a beginner.

Thanks again, Heath

christinaland128

5 Year Member
Metro Detroit
ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1452012267.696646.jpg
Welcome! This is a great place to learn! Be sure to read up and keep an open ear to the forum members! They've helped me greatly! :)

TerrapinStation

Detroit, Michigan
Hello and welcome

I think for Florida, your best bet might be a redfooted, yellow footed, or Cherryhead. They are personable, stay relatively small(er) and are well suited to the warm and humid climates of Florida. Lots of members on here from Floria keep Redfoots, @ZEROPILOT may be able to chime in and help with breeder and enclosure questions.......

Best of luck!!!

AnimalLady

OK...thanks to everyone! This was a good experience and I'm really excited. I have one more question...Cherry Head or Mediterranean Species? Remember I am a beginner.

Thanks again, Heath
Hey there!

I have a cherry head too! Here in FL it's perfect weather for them. It was a big factor in my decision. I consider myself a beginner and so far I'm doing fine with my 2 (Russian and CH).

I purchased the CH from a breeder on here and couldn't be happier :)

Heath87

Hey there!

I have a cherry head too! Here in FL it's perfect weather for them. It was a big factor in my decision. I consider myself a beginner and so far I'm doing fine with my 2 (Russian and CH).

I purchased the CH from a breeder on here and couldn't be happier :)
Thanks...what's your breeders name?

Heath87