Father and Daughter's first Tortoise

TortoiseMay

Location (City and/or State)
vienna, va
Hi All,

So I agreed to get my 7 year old a turtle. After doing way too much research (I'm an engineer) I convinced my daughter a tortoise/Box turtle might be the best bet. My wife really dislikes pets and I think with a little bit of help and a really good set up my daughter can grow into the responsibility. I also always go overkill with pets because unless i really feel like i can give it a great life, I'd prefer the animals to be in the wild. My daughter is a super animal lover and we spend a lot of time in nature together.

We dont have the pet yet, we are taking our time to make sure we really have a good setup that will reliably provide a good climate for the turtle.

I have an unused 6ft x 8ft greenhouse that I plan to use with automated temp sensors for heating/cooling. I like the idea of a greenhouse to keep it safe at night and will probably have a smaller night box in the enclosure as well.

We live in Virginia.

Just saying hi but we will be looking for some advice. I guess our first question would be suggestions for species. In my mind I probably want something that is the easiest for care as this is our first tortoise. I think something like an eastern box turtle would be ideal. What is the best way to go about finding a responsible breeder?

Thanks,
matthew

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome. What a great way to get a child started, taking interest too.
Be sure to stick to the forum for your research. We have the most accurate and up to date info.
Lots of Box turtle owners here.
The easiest would probably be any that are native to your state. Not taking them from the wild though and making sure your laws allow you to own any that is native. Then when you figure that out someone might be able to point you to a good breeder.

TortoiseMay

vienna, va