Feeding my indoor star tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

gb328

5 Year Member
Hey you all,

Im a newbie here and a newbie tortoise care taker. Just got myself a beautiful star tortoise from a friend has been with me for a week. He stays indoors 100% of the time and I keep the enclosure clean, dry and warm.

The problem is - he eats nothing except cucumbers !

Here are the things ive treid that he has rejected - grass from garden, coriander, carrots.

I live in India where stuff like dandelion greens, collard greens, endives etc are not availale. I dont have a personal lawn and can only pluck grass or buy greens from super market, organic though.

Is it OK to feed him these -
cabbage ?
spinach ?
spring onion green ?
broccoli ?
methi or fenugreek leaves ?
radish - fruit or leaves ?
banana - fruit or leaves ?
red cabbage ?

Your advice is welcome !

Thanks

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
gb328 said:
Hey you all,

Im a newbie here and a newbie tortoise care taker. Just got myself a beautiful star tortoise from a friend has been with me for a week. He stays indoors 100% of the time and I keep the enclosure clean, dry and warm.

The problem is - he eats nothing except cucumbers !

Here are the things ive treid that he has rejected - grass from garden, coriander, carrots.

I live in India where stuff like dandelion greens, collard greens, endives etc are not availale. I dont have a personal lawn and can only pluck grass or buy greens from super market, organic though.

Is it OK to feed him these -
cabbage ?
spinach ?
spring onion green ?
broccoli ?
methi or fenugreek leaves ?
radish - fruit or leaves ?
banana - fruit or leaves ?
red cabbage ?

Your advice is welcome !

Thanks