Flash (Hermanns Tortoise) has buried himself and not moved for just less than 24 hours

Flash2020

Location (City and/or State)
Bolton
So as the title says, Its the first time my tortoise has had soil instead of the little pellet things what was provided when I bought him a couple weeks ago, I replaced it yesterday during the day and pretty much since then he has just buried himself and not moved, is everything fine here?

This is my first time owning a pet of this type and every 10minutes I am just worried hes not happy, I am feeding him correct things and always making sure temperature is fine and water is kept fresh and letting him out for walks etc but this has been hard the past 24hour since he hasnt moved and I dont want to disturb him if he is hibernating etc.

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi and welcome
Yes they love to dig but will also do so if temps aren't right.
This is the caresheet you need to check everything is OK with your set up and pictures of the enclosure, lamps and tort will help members give you good feedback.

He shouldn't be hibernating if your temps are right and especially if he's been eating. The preparation for hibernation is gradual and they stop eating before it, so that there's no food in the gut to rot. If I were you I would take him out and give him a nice luke/baby warm shallow soak.

Last edited:

Flash2020

Bolton
Hi and welcome
Yes they love to dig but will also do so if temps aren't right.
This is the caresheet you need to check everything is OK with your set up and pictures of the enclosure, lamps and tort will help members give you good feedback.
Thank you! I will provide some pictures right now,

So where the basking side is, I tend to keep it around 32-35c heat and then where the lamp is not there, I tend to keep it between 20-25c

Now at night time, I turn off all the lights and it sits around 17-20c

• He has one big water to bath in (Most of the time I take him out and do that)
  • He has water to drink from