Found a tortoise...

Melissaann

Location (City and/or State)
Jacksonville, Florida
So my fiancé found this guy on the side of the rode in florida today... Can anyone tell me what kind of tortoise this is? My friends have a Sulcata and they say that's what we have found but can someone confirm? They are telling me he looks sick like he was not well cared for... I'm just not sure what you guys think or what I should be doing to care for him until we figure out what we are going to do long term? Can he hang out outside and get sun?

Thank you guys :)

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 172
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    382.7 KB · Views: 171

tinkerbell1189

5 Year Member
I'm no expert, but looks to me like a red foot tortoise? He looks dehydrated, I'd try giving him a soak in shallow warm water.

Some others more experienced will give you more specific advice

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
I am getting a terrible glare on my laptop screen (I am outside), so I can't see the pictures well, but I will agree with the other person on it looking like a redfoot to me.

StarSapphire22

5 Year Member
Fargo, ND
Definitely looking like a red (maybe yellow?) foot to me. Looks relatively well cared for to me, though it's hard to tell in these pictures. You should try and return it to its owners (posting found ads, etc.) as it is likely someone's pet. Check out the redfoot section in the mean time while he's in your care. :) This species needs lots of humidity, greens, weeds, some fruit and protein, too. :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the forum! I agree you should try to find the RF tortoise's owner.

747117wei24kafiu.gif

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA