Frusturated

Status
Not open for further replies.

DoctorCosmonaut

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Oregon
I'm so annoyed. I rarely get on the reptile-channel tortoise forum (and every time I go on there there is an older post concerning redfoots that I always feel a litte late when answering) so I decided to help RF owners out... So I posted recommending redfoot owners to Terry's redfoot care sheets and a person, who isn't a moderator, isn't a turtle or tortoise owner, only owns one gecko (on a tort/turt forum!), wrote me back, telling me that my post was soliciting and breaking the forum rules! He's not even a moderator and is a total newbie to reptiles!

Here's the rule he posted:
"Dude, this is against the rules. RC's rules read:

4. No solicitations.
No unsolicited or unauthorized advertising. This includes promotion of items for personal financial gain, as well as promotion of an item or issue for the purpose of mass communication. Further, mass posting or ‘spamming’ the community is not allowed."

Here is what I posted:
"I'll save all you Redfoot owners a lot of time and tell you about one of the best places for redfoot care guidance:

Best Redfoot care sheets I've ever found:
http://www.redfoots.com/redfoot.htm

And the best place I've found to go for questions concerning tortoises has been tortoiseforum.org.

Hope this helps [BigGrin]"

I was just trying to be helpful ya know...

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Doc. You seem like a great person. Try not to let the narrow-minded buffoons of the world get to you. When it comes to doing the right thing and helping an animal, I toss administrative "rules" to this side.

I believe you did the right thing by posting helpful info.

Sleep well tonight with a clear conscience and one more good deed added to your lifetime tally.

sammi

10 Year Member!
San Diego, CA