Gnarly looking 3-toe, advice needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Herphiles

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Dover, New Hampshire
So, to start off I am fairly new to the tortoise and turtle side of reptile keeping, I've kept snakes for years though. So my girlfriend is a manager at a great local pet shop, she's the fish and reptile girl and she knows her stuff! Well, yesterday someone brought a couple of boxies to the store as a rescue/surrender (she was sending me pics throughout the night) and one of em, a little three-toed (took me a little while to even figure out the species from the amount of shell deformity) is definitely in some rough shape. I've never personally seen an animal with this degree of shell deformation, it's supposedly three years old but it's shell is smaller than a pack of cigarettes!
The turtle is in good hands now, Jess is going to make sure that everything that can be done for it will be done and he'll be staying at the store and seeing a vet til he's fit to be rehomed. What I'm wondering though is what do you guys think could have caused this much deformation? Is there a chance that this little guy could make it and live a healthy happy life without significant medical costs to either the store or the person who adopts him? We're considering taking him in ourselves but I really don't want to take him home just to have him die on us. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• image-1626340978.png
    image-1626340978.png
    376.1 KB · Views: 199
  • image-1238499151.png
    image-1238499151.png
    1 MB · Views: 171
  • image-210532875.png
    image-210532875.png
    1 MB · Views: 146
  • image-1113822807.png
    image-1113822807.png
    1 MB · Views: 163
  • image-481386835.png
    image-481386835.png
    1 MB · Views: 121

yagyujubei

5 Year Member
Amish Country
Severe Metabolic Bone Disease. It needs calcium and UVB, preferably sunlight.

Neal

10 Year Member!
Arizona
yagyujubei said: