Good Morning! I am a newbie to the site.

Momshra

Location (City and/or State)
Kansas
I am reaching out to other members cause I have a question regarding basking temps. Right now I am using a 100 watt light and I have it about 20 inches from the surface. The temp is usually 85ish. Is that too far away/temp to low? Please advise. My babies stay under it all the time and do not utilize the hide a ways i have for them. They are eating well and look good. I just thought them being under the basking light all the time might mean something.
Thanks in advance
Kari

20180213_073044.jpg

Momshra

Kansas
Hello. I was just curious what others use for a basking light and what temp my baby sulcatas should have.
Thank you in advance.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Kari, and welcome to the Forum!

You should have a UVB light. Is your basking light a UVB light? They need the UVB in order to make the calcium they eat work inside the body.

The instructions on most UVB lights tell you to place the light a maximum of 12" from the top of the tortoise's shell. It should be around 100F plus or minus directly under the light, fading to about 80-85F in the rest of the enclosure.

I use this one (only a 100 watt):

mercury vapor bulb.jpg

Momshra

Kansas
Yvonne hello!
Thanks for responding. So I have a heat/UVA 100 watt and a 13? watt UVB. (we tried to use two different kinds of DUAL heat-uvb bulbs....but they kept blowing after 15 minutes to an hour. (we never did figure that out)
The UVB light is probably 16 to 18 inches from shell. So I sounds like I need to lower it. The UVB bulb I am using hardly gives off heat. So that is why we purchased the basking Heat/uva. Please give me feedback when you have a chance.
Thanks so much,
Kari

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA