Greetings from Jeff the Turtle

MrsVDP

Location (City and/or State)
Ashland, WI
Hi! My name is Emily and I am an elementary school teacher is far northern Wisconsin. Jeff the Three-toed Box Turtle came to me by way of another teacher friend. She has rescued him from and aquarium store, who had taken him in when his owner no longer wanted him? He's a traveled guy, let's just put it that way. My teacher friend had to re-home him because she had in in an enclosure with her female box turtle and he was getting *ahem* amorous. So I went and picked him up and here he is. I have never owned a box turtle, or reptile of any sort, so it's new territory for me. I do have some great resources in some friends who own a reptile breeding business, though, as well as a retired biology teacher friend. That being said, we have noticed that Jeff has been very "sprawled" out while sleeping and it was a tiny bit alarming. So I did a quick Google search and ended up in a forum on this site, which answered my concerns and I was happy to learn that this behavior means he is happy and content in his environment. He seems to enjoy activity around him and "listens" when you talk to him. A great source of entertainment is watching him "hunt" food such as wax worms, earth worms and crickets. He is a voracious eater in general. This picture shows him with remnants of a feast of cranberries from Friday, hence the lipstick look! Anyway, happy to find a place where I can learn more about enjoying our good friend, Jeff. Cheers!

IMG_5899.JPG

Ray--Opo

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Palm Bay Fl
Hello and welcome.
I am not familiar with box turtles but love your new friend.
Good luck Emily with your new friend.

LaLaP

5 Year Member
Portland, OR
Welcome to the forum! Jeff sounds like a sweet guy!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, Emily, and Welcome!